About Our Association

Established in 1879 by farmers for farmers and still insuring farms.

When you are selecting a company to handle your insurance needs, remember your neighbors! Remember EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL. Unlike other insurance companies, your neighbors at EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL know you, we know your specific insurance needs and we’re close by when you need us!

EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL was formed January 1, 2001 by the merger of Bohemian Farmers Mutual of Swisher, Iowa and Linn Mutual of Mt. Vernon, Iowa. Linn Mutual Insurance Association was formed in 1870 and domiciled in Linn Township of Linn County, Iowa until moving to Mt. Vernon. Bohemian Farmers had its beginnings in 1879 in Oxford Township of Jones County, Iowa. Following several moves, Bohemian Farmers assumed permanent residency in Swisher until the merger. EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL is one of the most financially sound county mutual insurance associations in the state of Iowa.

Since 1879, EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL has protected farm and town properties in Linn, Johnson, Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Delaware, Iowa, Jones, Louisa, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Tama, and Washington counties with additions of Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Keokuk, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Black Hawk, Clayton, Davis, Fayette, Lee, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren and Wapello counties in the early 2000’s.

Board of Directors

Board members: EASTERN IOWA MUTUAL is guided by 8 member directors who are policyholders of the mutual. The directors are active farmers, retired farmers and farmer/agents.

Eastern Iowa Mutual provide liability packages with
Grinnell Mutual and IMT

IMT InsuranceGrinnell Mutual